h1

Introductions

November 28, 2008

Hello and welcome to Filmpunk! This is a blog I will be filling with random observations about modern media; everything from film, TV, music, print, websites, you name it…

The goal is to go beyond simple reviews (though there will be plenty of those) in order to address how media creation and consumption are constantly evolving. Over the course of the next few weeks, I will be inviting other artists to join the blog, as well as developing stories for the site.

So who am I? Well, the name’s Dennis Ryan. I’m a freelance video editor and media junkie. Since childhood, I’ve dreamed of recording music and making movies. I was fascinated with photography and animation. Growing up in the 80s and 90s meant such endeavors were prohibitively costly. However, in recent years I began to feel the tides changing. Today there is no question. I believe we are in the midst of a prolonged artistic revolution which is seeing the barrier for entry all but removed as countless free open source programs, stock libraries and video tutorials will provide just about anyone with the tools and education they need to create professional digital art. And while other more traditional mediums might not see as much direct influence, in a growing multimedia culture, what’s good for one medium will benefit them all.

Of course, the technological advancements are only the half of it, we mustn’t forget the work nor the artists themselves! While Filmpunk can only hope to bring you the tiniest sample of what exists out there, it’s an endeavor worth pursuing. Plus, if we find it interesting, hopefully you will too!

And it’s with this newfound empowerment and continuing admiration for the arts that I bring you Filmpunk…enjoy!

Leave a comment